Frequently Asked Questions

Below you will find some FAQ’s we get asked by our customers about smokeless coal, heat logs and the UK smoke control areas.

What is smokeless coal?

Smokeless coal is a type of fuel made from coal that has been specially designed to produce less smoke and other pollutants when burned. It typically contains a higher proportion of anthracite or low volatile bituminous coal than traditional coal and can be used in place of regular coal in most UK smoke control areas.

What are the benefits of using smokeless coal?

Smokeless coal produces significantly less smoke, soot, and other pollutants than traditional coal. This can help reduce air pollution, improve air quality, and reduce the health risks associated with long-term exposure to smoke and other pollutants. Additionally, smokeless coal is more efficient and burns hotter, meaning it can provide more heat for the same amount of fuel.

What are heat logs?

Heat logs are a type of manufactured fire log made from a blend of compressed saw dust and wax. They are designed to burn cleaner and more efficiently than traditional wood logs, producing less smoke and fewer pollutants.

How long do heat logs usually last?

Heat logs typically last for up to 2 hours, depending on fuel and burning conditions.

Can I use my wood burning stove in smoke control area?

If you have a DEFRA Approved wood burning stove or multi-fuel stove, you can burn firewood that is dry and seasoned with a moisture content of 20% or less to prevent excessive smoke. You cannot burn wood such as old pallets or fencing which will release dark smoke and toxins. To find out if you wood burner or multi-fuel stove is DEFRA approved you can check here:

What fuels can I burn in my home fire if I live in a smoke control area?

You can find a full list of approved fuels on the DEFRA website:

What is a Smoke Control Area?

A Smoke Control Area is an area of the UK where the burning of certain fuels in your fireplace or wood burning stove is prohibited in order to reduce air pollution. These areas are designated by local authorities and often cover most or all of a city or town. You can find out if you live in a smoke control area by visiting the smoke control area map.

What fuels are prohibited in Smoke Control Areas?

The burning of bituminous coal, wood, oil, manufactured solid fuel, and any other fuel not specifically authorised by the local authority is prohibited in smoke control areas.

You can find a full list of approved fuels for England on the DEFRA website:

What are the penalties for burning prohibited fuels in a Smoke Control Area?

The penalties for burning prohibited fuels in a Smoke Control Area are severe and can include fines.

If you are found to be burning an unauthorised fuel, you can be fined up to £1,000. Additionally, in England you may have to pay a penalty of up to £300 if your local council decides your chimney releases too much smoke! Read more about smoke control area fines.

Are there any exemptions from the Smoke Control Area rules?

Yes, there are certain exemptions from the Smoke Control Area rules. This includes burning fuels for certain types of domestic appliances, such as cookers, boilers, and open fires. You should check with your local council to find out what excemptions are in place. You can find the contact information for you local council here: